Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
  • Gary Johanson
    Participant
    @garyjohanson
    9 years, 4 months ago

Hi:

I am bootstrapping a Letterpress Business, or, at least, have been trying to for seven years now.  What I have going for me is that I have a fully complimented Letterpress shop, and I have a Letterpress background going back to the late 1960s.  I live in an area that is not letterpress Saturated.  We have a very large, very well known Letterpress operation (that I helped to set up) about 40 miles south, and another one (that I also both trained, and helped to set up) about 30 miles to the south.  I am in Central Florida.

However, I am a printer and an artist.  Not a marketer, not a hipster, not a Bookarts Graduate or Graphic Arts grad with a list of connections. Neither do we have a deep cash source.  I am, instead, attempting to get this operation off the ground in what time I have, in that I have a career day job.  I have a web site for my studio/shop, a blog, strong connections with the Tampa Bay Book Arts Studio (TBAS / University of Tampa), I run the Florida Letterpress Group with one Wayzgoose under our belt,  and, in fact, I have done some business.  But . . .

I have put tons of money into Wedding venues, ads, shows, and I am active on FB, Instagram, Twitter . . . the non-printing on-line marketing has been distracting to the extreme, and seems almost to take precedence over printing, but then, I am not doing a lot of that.  I feel like I am spinning my wheels.