Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
  • D N K
    Participant
    @dnk
    12 years, 11 months ago

Just curious which vector program is more popular in the group? Or is there another program I’m overlooking?

D

Bev Dittberner
    Participant
    @bevdittberner1
    12 years, 11 months ago

Illustrator CS5.   I have been a prepress tech and graphic designer for letterpress exclusively for 6 years (the old Quark days through CS5), If I was working in the 4 color process world I would probably be more inclined to use indesign. If you take the time to learn how to use the Pen tool in illustrator, you will learn to love illustrator- 

Indesign has export limitations that make it my least favorite part of CS5- I convert and prepare files that come from lots of different designers and lots of different programs – Illustrator is the most RIP friendly – 

Bev Dittberner

Full Circle Press

D N K
    Participant
    @dnk
    12 years, 11 months ago

I come from a raster background…Corel Painter kicks bootie hands down!- for painting.  Illustrator’s pen tool rocked, but I had read that InDesign was better with digital font when applied in letterpress…so I was curious. Thanks for sharing your experience Bev.

davina farinola
    Participant
    @davinafarinola
    12 years, 11 months ago

Illustrator is good for single page illustrations and layouts.

InDesign is best for multi page type based documents like brochures and magazines.

Both have limitations that you can overcome by creating in the other piece of software (including Photoshop) and importing into each other as they work pretty seamlessly together. (eg if you have all 3 open, you can drag and drop between applications.) Get the CS suite!

D N K
    Participant
    @dnk
    12 years, 11 months ago