Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
  • Sarah Smith
    Participant
    @sarahsmith
    13 years, 2 months ago

Hello Ladies. I am new to the site, but I’m so glad I found it!

I have been printing for around 6 months on a Kelsey 3×5. I took a course in letterpress using a Chandler and Price Pilot after I first purchased my press. While I love my press , I always viewed it as a “starter” press. I would like to purchase a larger press so that I can print invitations and announcements as a side job/hobby. Specifically, I wanted a pilot, but I  have had little luck finding one. In the newspaper, I found a Chandler and Price 12×18 an hour away from my home.  I’m in love with the idea of owning a larger press, but I’m concerned that this press is going to be too big (3×5 to 12×18 is a pretty large jump).

I have 4 main questions/concerns:

1. If I decide to buy the press, I would definatley take a course on how to properly use it, but like I said, right now, I’m wondering if it is too big for me. In your opinion, is it better take “baby steps” and work your way up to a larger press, or should I “dive in” to this new adventure?

2. Additionally, the press needs a cleaning and maybe some other work. It has been sitting for many years and has some rust. I’m an engineering graduate student, so at this point I’m not sure I’m able to put in the necessary time that will be required to get the press running. Any thoughts on the time needed for restoration would be appreciated.

3. I have tried to attach the pictures that the seller emailed me to show you the press. I know that prices vary depending on location, but if you wanted to take a stab at what a fair price would be for a press requiring this much work, I’d appreciate it.