Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
  • Patricia Heffner
    Participant
    @patriciaheffner
    6 years, 1 month ago

Hi all! I’m a total letterpress newbie with interest in purchasing my first tabletop 5×8.

I currently have two letterpress tabletops for sale in my area, a 5×8 Kelsey in working order with rollers (listed for $650) or a 5×8 craftsmen without rollers but with accessories (and not used for 10 years, $750).

I don’t know how to determine what these are worth, or what a decent price to pay would be. Do you have any tips for someone just starting out? Any experience with these?

I’m a software engineer by day, but calligrapher by night. The hope would be to make some cards, occasional invitation suites. I am so excited and passionate about letterpress and I can’t wait to play with one of my own! Thanks all!

Meghan
    Participant
    @meghan
    6 years, 1 month ago

Hey Patricia!

First of all, congrats on being bitten by the print bug. Secondly, these are both decent prices. Rollers will cost you a couple hundred bucks for the Craftsman, but it’s a bit stronger press than the Kelsey. You’ll need to spend some more money though, to really get started. I’d budget for an extra $300-400 in additional supplies, depending on what accessories the seller throws in with your press. You’ll need:
    – ink
    – tympan and packing material
    – gauge pins (I recommend Henry)
    – a Boxcar base or similar if you plan to print your own designs using photopolymer
    – roller height gauge
    – quoins and quoin key
    – furniture (for locking up your form)
    – line gauge (a fancy printer’s ruler)
    – oil (3in1 is great)
    – solvent for clean-up (mineral spirits, California Wash, etc.)