Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
  • Erica Sirotich
    Participant
    @ericasirotich
    13 years, 8 months ago

Hi Ladies!

I am just getting started with letterpress; I’m an illustrator trying to produce small prints and stationery using my C&P Pilot old style press. Yesterday I printed my first two color prints. I am pretty happy with how they came out, but when you inspect the prints closely, the ink bled slightly. Though I thought I might experience some bleeding with the orange texture lines (see below), since the original illustration was scaled down quite a bit to create the photopolymer plate, I didn’t expect to see any bleeding of the thicker, blue lines, so I could use some help troubleshooting. 
    I printed these using Van Son rubber based ink (with no additives) on Crane Lettra 110 lb cover stock. I haven’t noticed this bleed before; the only factor that’s different with this print run is that I mixed colors for the first time (whereas before I was printing with ink straight out of the can). I also printed these plates on some French Speckletone stock (80 lb cover), and didn’t see the bleed. Is a slight bleed common with Lettra/cotton papers? How can I control this? Do you have any suggestions for ensuring a cripser print? 
    One other possible factor is, perhaps, humidity. I live in Sarasota, Florida and though my air conditioning runs all the time, it may be a bit humid in my studio. Perhaps I should run a dehumidifier. Just a thought!
    Thanks! 
    Erica Sirotich

First two-color print

Lines bleeding

Christie
    Participant
    @christie
    13 years, 8 months ago

could be over inking…..that happens some times….less ink, more make ready.

Kathryn Hunter
    Participant
    @kathrynhunter
    13 years, 8 months ago

yep, maybe over inking or the rollers may not be quite at correct roller height.

Kseniya Thomas
    Keymaster
    @kseniya
    13 years, 8 months ago